Southeast Berrien County Landfill Authority

Special Board of Directors Meeting February 02, 2023

1. Call to Order

The February 02, 2023 Special Board of Directors of the Southeast Berrien County Landfill Authority was called to order by Tom Gordon at 10:32am.

2. Pledge Recited

3. Roll Call:

Board Member Present:

Dan Pulaski, Niles Charter Township
Herschel Hoese, Niles Charter Township
Tom Gordon, Buchanan Township
David Zelmer, Bertrand Township
Dave Kuhn, Bertrand Township
Patrick Swem, City of Buchanan
Bill Weimer, City of Niles
Linda Casperson, City of Niles

Absent:

Mindy Cole Crocker (Buchanan Township), Heather Grace (City of Buchanan)

Others Present: Tyler Ganus (General Manager)

4. Consent Calendar

Approval Agenda for February 02, 2023. Voice vote showed unanimous approval

Motion carried (8-0)

- 5. Public Comments. None.
- 6. Unfinished Business. None.

7. New Business

Motioned by Swem to enter Closed Session according to MCL 15.268 Sec. 8 –1, c & h. "15.268 Closed sessions; permissible purposes; applicability to independent citizens redistricting commission. Sec. 8. (1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (2), a public body may meet in a closed session only for the following purposes: (c) For strategy and negotiation sessions connected with the negotiation of a collective bargaining agreement if either negotiating party requests a closed hearing. (h) To consider material exempt from discussion or disclosure by state or federal statute." at 10:35 AM. Seconded by Zelmer. Voice Vote Ayes: Kuhn, Swem, Gordon, Zelmer, Casperson, Pulaski, Weimer, and Hoese. Nays: None

Closed Meeting at 10:35 AM

Southeast Berrien Country Landfill Authority Special Board of Directors Meeting February 02, 2023

Motion By Zelmer to return to open session at 11:18 AM. Seconded by Swem.

Voice Vote Ayes: Swem, Gordon, Zelmer, Casperson, Pulaski, Weimer, Hoese, and Kuhn.

Nays: None Motion carried (8-0)

Opened meeting at 11:18 AM

Motion by Swem to allow the General Manager to proceed as discussed in Closed Session. Seconded by Zelmer

Voice Vote Ayes: Gordon, Zelmer, Casperson, Pulaski, Weimer, Hoese, Kuhn, and Swem. Nays: None Motion carried (8-0)

8. Public Comment. None.

9. Adjournment

There being no further business before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:25 AM.

Respectfully Submitted:

Dan Pulaski, Note Taker

Thomas Gordon

Chairperson
February 02, 2023